EDTC WEEK 7

Decided to check out the Autodesk 123D Catch program. You take a series of pictures of an object (my test was a person) then you upload and the program converts it to a 3D Object. So How cool is that?

Autodesk123D Catch

Autodesk123D Catch

I used a digital camera and took about 9 pictures (7 -32 program suggested)
What I discovered. The more pictures and angles of the picture you take the better replica you get.
The more pictures you take also increases the upload and conversion times. Backgrounds have an effect on the picture interpretation conversions.

Ideas for lessons that came to me as I tried this experiment.
Technology
Of course there is Technology of the program itself, but more powerful is I can use any device that takes pictures (phones, tablets, computers, digital camera, DS etc.) and design the lesson so it is an incorporation of different types of devices interfacing. (i.e. Bluetooth from phone to tablet, tablet to computer USB port, SD card to computer or camera hookup directly to CPU)
Art
Digital Sculpturing – an awesome lesson on using digital tools to capture objects and converting into a digital 3D image, ready for manipulation and molding. (students take still life photos with the digital devices, upload to the program and manipulate the matrix to produce desired effects)
Science
Experimenting with different types of colors, textures that will have an effect on the picture during the capture process, to determine if there is an effect / change in the way the image is interpreted by the (i.e. using different colors – black/white and textures – mirrors/patterns)
Math
Learn about matrix, everything can be broken down in triangles
Measurements are also present
Engineering
Problem solving the process
Transdiciplinary
ADD Language Arts, History, Government, Business and the above subjects and the following:
If you were a ruler in the era/time (period of history studying – Rome, Reinsurance, America )
and you requisitioned a sculpture artist to sculpt you – what would be your pose and why? What would be your name? How would you rule? Who would be your enemies and foes during the time of your reign, why?
Visual reasoning
One has to think of the matrix in which the program is converting the object and trying to makes reference points to connect to a close resemblance of the original object. If you miss any angle than the matrix has a gap, or holes. Some can be repaired others can not (Seen in the picture of my test subject above, I did not take pictures of the top of the head, and the sun reflecting from the brim of the cap interfered with capturing/conversion results, leaving a un-fixable gap). Understanding the 3 dimensional frame-work as opposed to the 2 dimensions we are used to, helps to capture the objects in entirety, minimizing gaps and holes in the matrix fabric.

I studied both on-line and downloaded software Autodesk 123D Design as well as Autodesk 123D Catch. I compared the program to see which may fit my needs and to understand how the tools worked. I saw potential in both programs. I found the on-line programs limited and the downloaded programs to have more editing capabilities. All four programs were different and took some time to learn. The questions I kept asking were “can my students do this in a limited time frame and can I teach this on only 4 computers? I still have those questions. It is not a question if the student will get the tools, I think they will, it is a question if the internet connection can handle it.
Three things I learned
1. I found that I like the Catch program over the Design, it was easier to understand and fit into a technology class (is what I was ask to do by the Dean of the school).
2. I did not have an epic fail, but I did have a learning experience. I learned that light and photo angles affect the process.
3. Also if you do not take enough pictures the program will have gaps and holes in the final product.
Two things that I want to learn
1. How the 3D printer works
2. How long a project takes to print.
One question I still have
1. Can I print on the 3D printer with the Catch program and how big will it print?

1 Comment

Filed under EDTC 5340

One response to “EDTC WEEK 7

  1. Holly,
    The model you made of the 3D person was super neat, I’m going to have to try it out! Your right it’s super neat, I was starting to ask myself how people were getting those very detailed 3D models when it was hard to just connect basic shapes in class on Monday. I’m excited to explore all the different things we are able to do with the 3D software.

    I also like your idea for your 3D project, I’m interested to see how your lesson comes out!

    Lori Harrison

Leave a comment